Welcome to the fifth in a series of blog posts that will highlight key changes and enhancements made to the Lucity software for 7.20. This post discusses some improvements to help you to be more productive in our Work Management modules. Additional topics in this series include:
- The New Look of the Application
- New and Improved Timesheet Interface
- GIS for ArcGIS 10 Improvements
- More GIS for ArcGIS 10 Improvements
- Project Management Improvements
- Utility Locates
- New Account and Project Number Lookups
These productivity improvements are not the most glamorous of our enhancements discussed in this series, but we hope these changes will save users time and reduce some tedious daily tasks. For the 7.20 release we added tools for closing work orders in bulk, as well as batch updating supervisor, lead worker or crew assignments. We also added the ability to add multiple sub tasks to a work order at once.
Closing Work Orders and Requests in Bulk
All of the bulk or batch edit tools operate on the current module filter. To close a group of work orders, set a filter for all of the records that should be updated. Then select the “Close Work Order for Filterset” from the Toolkit. The tool will prompt for a closed status (any status code in Lucity that is greater than 950 is considered closed) and will close all of the work orders selected and perform any special behaviors that occur when a work order is normally closed. This tool can update work orders to any closed status except cancelled. A different existing tool is dedicated to cancelling work orders.
This tool has several restrictions. Only users with “General – Edit” permissions and “Allow Closing of Record” permissions may run the tool. If a user attempts to run the tool without these permissions, the processing will be aborted. The tool can be run on work orders that are already closed to change the work order to a different closed status (for example, changing them from “Closed” to “Closed – Paid”), but the user running the tool must have the “Allow Edit of Closed Record” permission. If the user does not have the “Allow Edit of Closed Record” permission, work orders that have an existing closed status will be skipped in the processing. Category Level security permissions are also enforced if Category Level Security is enabled. No warning will be given regarding work orders skipped because the user did not have permissions.
All of the standard checks that run when a work order is closed manually by changing the status on a single record also run when the work orders are closed with this tool. For work orders that are tied to PMs, if the required data is not present, the work order status will automatically be changed to 948 “Missing Required Data”. If the “Enforce Starting and Ending Dates on Close of Work Order” work option is enabled, work orders missing a start or end date will be skipped. When the tool is finished running, it will prompt with the total number of work orders that could not be closed due to the missing dates.
Closing requests works very similar to work orders. When requests are closed, the system will send any customer completed notifications (if needed).
Batch Edit for Supervisor, Lead Worker, and Crew
In addition to providing a special tool for closing work orders, new tools for performing batch edits on supervisor, lead worker, and assigned crew are also available. These tools are accessed from the Toolkit and are run on the current filter. All three tools require that the user running the tool have “General – Edit” permissions. They also all enforce Category Level Security and the “Allow Edit of Closed Record” permission. The tool will skip processing any work orders that the user does not have permissions to edit and will not provide a warning about records that were not updated due to failed permissions. The “Change Crew for Filterset” toolkit option will also set the supervisor and lead worker values based on the crew if they are empty on the work order. The supervisor batch tool is also available for Requests. Each of these tools will automatically send any supervisor and lead worker notifications where appropriate.
Add Multiple Sub Tasks at a Time
Another shortcut we added for Work Orders is the “Populate Multiple Tasks” menu in the tasks grid. This new menu option prompts for which tasks to be added to the work order. It supports Shift+click or Ctrl+click to select a group of tasks to be added.
All of the standard behavior including setting default values in the task and adding any related resources are automatically handled when the task is added to the work order using this tool. This function only supports adding multiple tasks associated to the current work order category. To add sub tasks not associated with the current category, users must use the standard task dialog to select one task at a time.
Will these shortcuts and enhancements make Lucity easier and faster for your users? Are there other enhancements we can make to improve your daily productivity? Please let us know by leaving a comment.
(All comments on this blog are moderated. Please direct support requests or concerns not related to productivity enhancements or the tools discussed in this post to our help desk.)