Lucity 7.20 Enhancements: Lucity GIS for ArcGIS 10 Improvements Part 2

Our Annual User Conference and Training and the final push before our 7.3 release has kept our development staff very busy.  There are, however, still two remaining posts for our 7.20 enhancements we want to share.  This post is the seventh (of eight) in the series.  It discusses more enhancements we made for our ArcGIS 10 integration.  This post focuses on GIS editing enhancements made in this release.  These features allow you to customize your editing experience using the Lucity GIS extension. Additional topics in this series include:

Streamlining Edit Prompts

Editors in ArcMap will be pleased that the Lucity extension can now be configured to streamline the number of prompts relating to edit sessions (or disable them completely).  Some users want these prompts;  they provide assurance that the software is doing what they expect it to do.  But users were frequently requesting more control over which prompts were displayed. In response to our user’s requests, several new configuration options were added for 7.20.  These options are accessed via the “Settings” button on the Lucity Editor toolbar in ArcMap.

For clients who have multiple configurations or “clients”, the MXD specific settings help users by skipping the prompt for the client.  One less click is always welcome.  This setting is saved with the project, so different projects can use a different default client.  This default client is only used for editing at this time.

User specific settings are saved to the Lucity user’s preferences and apply across all projects that the user opens.  User Specific Settings can only be changed when logged into a client  because those settings are specific to the client that is currently logged in.  To change these, first use another Lucity tool, select the desired client and log in. Then come back to the settings dialog and make the desired changes.

Disable Lucity Editor Extension will cause the Lucity Editor extension to be persistently disabled.  For users that have Lucity installed, but never make edits to the Lucity related geodatabases or never make edits to Lucity geodatabases that should be pushed to the Lucity databases, this setting can be configured to effectively disable all Lucity edit functionality for that user (no prompts, no pushing edits to Lucity, no Lucity edit tools available).

A short term disable option is also available.  This option is on the main Lucity toolbar:

This temporarily disables the Lucity Editor extension.  Unlike the User Specific Settings, once the project is re-opened, this option will default to false again.

Alternately, to disable edits from one or more ArcSDE versions for all editors, use the Geodatabase Configuration tools in ArcCatalog (Lucity GIS Tools>>Geodatabase Configuration) to configure which geodatabase versions should be kept in synch with the Lucity software.

Troubleshooting Log

Another tool added for 7.20 that can be very useful for troubleshooting is the logging tool.  This tool outputs details about what the Lucity extension is doing and problems it encountered during normal operations both within and without an edit session.

It is what helped me figure out why our new Create Supersegments tool was not working!  The output looks like this:

In Red there are two notes identifying that the extension could not find my Subsegments or my Supersegments feature classes (which are called STSUBSEGG and STSUPERG, respectively).  I added these to the project and was able to proceed using the tool.

Checking “Log Everything” will adversely affect performance, especially when making edits.  Use this verbose logging option with discretion.  This setting is not persistent; the Log Everything option will default back to false when a project is closed and re-opened.

Let us know what you think about these enhancements.  Are there other changes we could make to improve the user experience of our Lucity GIS Editing tools?

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s